Conservation Commission

4-Year Terms – 9 Members, 1 of which from Town Council & 3 Alternates Appointed by Mayor - Per C.G.S. §7-131a & Charter §1.2; 1.5

Purpose and Objectives

The purpose of the Conservation Commission is to promote the development and conservation of natural resources, including water resources, within Town. The Conservation Commission shall: 

  1. Conduct research into the utilization or possible utilization of land areas of the Town. 
  2. Coordinate the activities of unofficial bodies organized for similar purposes. 
  3. Advertise, prepare and distribute books, charts, plans and pamphlets, as necessary, for its purposes. 
  4. Keep an index of all open areas, publicly or privately owned, including open marshlands, swamps and other wetlands, for the purpose of obtaining information on the proper use of such areas. 
  5. From time to time, recommend to the Mayor, Town Council or Planning Commission places and programs for the development and use of such areas, which may include the acquisition of conservation easements. 
  6. Request the Town Council acquire land in the name of the Town for any of the Conservation Commission’s purposes.


Council Member Liaison   Term Expires
Laura Dancho
December 13, 2023

Regular Members

September 30, 2026
Cassandra Bryant

September 30, 2025
Joe Koripsky

September 30, 2023
Joseph DiMenno 
  September 30, 2024
Gregg Dancho, Chair
  September 30, 2026
Angela Capinera, Vice Chair   September 30, 2025
Greg Gross (Resigned)
September 30, 2023
Donna Wells   September 30, 2024

Alternate Members - 3-Year Terms

   September 30, 2023
 September 30, 2024
VACANT    September 30, 2025

AdHoc Members

Town Planner:  Susmitha Attota
Secretary: Laurie Barr
Environmental Conservation Superintendent Kelly Kerrigan

Agendas and Minutes

Listing files in 'Conservation Commission'

Additional Links